My last blog was guest written by Martha Wagner.  She is encouraging me to expand more VocationVacations with an organic, farm-to-fork, know-our-own-food focus.

However, there’s a new twist to things, folks! The Wadester (my partner for those of you who didn’t already know) has been saying for years that he wants to move to the country…run for county office (he’ll die that I just wrote that but it’s true — he really does want to serve in rural government)….and “grow things”.

The Wadester grew up in rural Montana. Although he was a “townie” (population 400), his Mom’s family still owns and operates a gorgeous cattle ranch….all free range.  So he has some innate proclivities.

I was raised in rural Wisconsin just west of Madison….where I spent a fair amount of time helping out with chores at my friends’ dairy farms.  It was fun since I only had to do it maybe once every couple of weeks.  I had to beg my friends to help them with their chores since they really saw me as their meal ticket to AVOID chores in order to come to my house and play with Legos, Matchbox cars and commando with my GI Joe walkie talkies.

But even as a kid, I knew I didn’t want to help with chores every day.  Let alone TWICE a day!  No way.  I give full credit to dairy farmers.  It is the toughest job out there.  The cows need to be milked….every day…twice a day.   Soooooo……unlike The Wadester, I don’t have a proclivity to grow things…..or raise things…..four legged animals….two legged animals….or plants that grow from the ground.  I don’t even want the responsibility of growing plants in the house.

The Wadester is in Vermont at a conference this week.  It’s turning out to be a dangerous trip for me.  His desire to grow things has grown as he’s in a bucolic, agricultural state.  He just sent me this link about a gay couple who opted out and moved to upstate New York to farm:

http://www.mnn.com/lifestyle/arts-culture/blogs/the-fabulous-beekman-boys-gay-urbanites-turned-organic-farmers

He is inspired.  I am worried.

Are we moving to the country?  Will I put on bib overalls?  Does Banana Republic even make them?

Time will tell, I suppose.  I can truly manage VocationVacations from anywhere.  And if his dream job is to “grow things” then, as you know, I’m always the person who will encourage someone to pursue their passion.  I want to be the encouraging spouse.

But he will work the farm.

I will manage my business from the front porch of our farm with my MacBook and iPhone as long as I’m within an hour to a major airport so I can get to my beloved NYC, Portland and beyond.  I will not, however, drive the tractor to the airport.  I have my limits.

