I recorded “Dream Jobs with Brian” this morning with a Vocationer alum who took a B&B Owner VocationVacation and now she’s building out her catering and cake-making company while still in her current job….and then will buy a B&B just a bit further down the road once she has some more $’s in the bank.  Very cool.  She’s been unhappy for awhile…..but the current state of affairs in this world and economy have really prompted her to ask herself:  Am I REALLY happy in my life?

We’re hearing more and more folks talk about their dreams of owning their own business now that the recession is in full swing.  They are asking themselves:  What do I have to lose?  I’m so unhappy anyway in the job….now I’m at risk of losing my job….why not now create my dream business and build my future? We are hearing from people who are looking to get into voice-over, travel-writing, floral design, opening their own interior design company, getting into wedding planning….and the list goes on and on.  

My point is that I think there will be some silver lining at the end of this recession for many people.  It’s prompting them to get off their you-know-what’s and feel less complacent and “comfortable” and to get creative.  Who knew that a recession could actually prompt some GOOD things?  Good stuff!  I’m excited for these folks.

