I’m sitting at a diner (with WiFi!) in Kalama, WA on my way to some meetings in Seattle.  One meeting is later today with “Working Girl”, Karen Burns.  I just love hearing about all the jobs she’s had over the years…and her hilarious stories from them.  She long-ago landed her dream job as a writer but knowing that I’m meeting with her later today got me asking myself, “What were my favorite and least favorite jobs I’ve had over the years?”  And….”Am I in MY dream job today?”

The second question answered first.  I think anyone who knows me knows that starting up and running VocationVacations is truly my dream job.  Wow.  I get to work with mentors who love what they do and are willing and able to share their vocation passions with others, our Vocationers.  Meanwhile, it’s equally fantastic to help Vocationers get “unstuck”.

But…now, the first question being answered.  What have I done over the years and what’s my least favorite job of them?

Catnip Salesman — yes you read that right.  By the age of 11, I was already an entrepreneur.  I grew up in the woodsy hills west of Madison, WI….where catnip is plentiful.  So, I’d pick it.  Dry it.   And sell it to local pet stores!

Sporting Goods salesman at JCPenney at 16.

Frozen Custard maker in college.

Specialty popcorn maker (seriously!) in college.

Assistant Buyer for Lamps for May Company right out of college

Inside Sales for Medium Business clients at AT&T

Product Manager & then Director for Ameritech (regional phone company)

Business Development Director for a Managed Internet Security company

Wine Sales & Marketing for Lago di Merlo Distributing

And then, finally, Founder of VocationVacations!

 

My least favorite would have to be being an Asst. Buyer for Lamps for May Company right out of college.  LAMPS!?!?!  Ugh.  🙂

 

My second favorite beyond VocationVacations?  Honestly….I’d have to go back to being 11 and schlepping my catnip to pet stores.  It’s was a wonderful challenge and it set the tone early on that, yes, I can do ANYTHING I want to do.  I can go after my dream job.

 

 

 

